That Christmas morning feeling

After countless trips to Walmart, REI, and various sporting stores throughout the greater Roseville area, I can honestly say I am ready for this trip (thanks mom!).  It has been a long time coming, and I woke up this morning with the same jitters that I get on Christmas morning.  During my multiple day trip to get to the Philippines, I will have layovers in both Tokyo and Manila, and I will arrive in Tacloban City on Saturday afternoon. 

This trip is made possible with help from the Blum Center, and contributes to my minor requirements for Global Poverty and Practice. I could not have thought of a better way to fulfill this requirement, than to work with the NGO Volunteer for the Visayans, based in Tacloban City.   While I am there for the next 7 weeks, I will be living with a host family and immersing myself in the rich Filipino culture (and food of course, I mean, I am a Nutrition major). As this is a pretty rural area, the internet will be spotty and I definitely won’t have it every day, but I will try to update this blog a couple times a week.  As a disclaimer, writing is not my forte, so bear with me and I promise to post as many pictures of my adventures as possible, so you don’t have to read through my rambling.  

Finally, thanks to all my friends and family for your support, you know who you are and I love you all!!

Leave a Reply

